The Build Up to The Flyover Show Freedom Square Part 1

The opportunity to run The Flyover Show in South Africa was a life changing one. I was lucky enough to get sponsorship from The Soweto Hotel in Freedom Square so that I could go out to South Africa two weeks before the show in March 2012 to make sure that all the last minute preparation was done.

There was lots to do. Final licenses had to be sought, last minute negotiations on equipment and catering to sort out, interesting early morning phone calls from the local police yet more meetings! For the first week I was in South Africa I was on my own but I was accompanied by Booysie Khanyile who helped with with preparations and drove me to all the meetings I needed to attend (if you ever go to Johannesburg and need an excellent tour guide – he’s your man!)

Booysie Khanyile

The local British Council and Booysie helped me set up a series of workshops in local schools for Soweto Kinch and the other musicians to lead in the run up to the show. Here is a video from one of the schools workshops:

Leave a Reply

